The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has announced the nominees for its annual Fashion Awards. In the middle of March this year, the organization revealed that it was postponing the event and nomination announcements. While today marks the official reveal of the nominees, the CFDA also adds that it is eschewing the traditional live ceremony.

September 14 will be the day winners will be announced digitally through the CFDA official website as well as its social media channels. Some category changes have also been set — there are no honorees this year as well as no Fashion Icon, Positive Change, Founder’s, Media, Lifetime Achievement or International awards. Global Women’s Designer of the Year and Global Men’s Designer of the Year for designers categories for outside of the U.S. has also been added. “In this time of unprecedented challenge and change for our industry, we feel very strongly that it is it important to recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity,” Tom Ford, chairman of the CFDA said in a statement. “We look forward to returning to an in-person celebration honoring the American fashion industry in 2021.”

Some notable names for nominations include 2019 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund winner Christopher John Rogers, Kenneth Nicholson, Peter Do and Reese Cooper, who are all first-time nominees. Bigger names like Tom Ford are up for two nominations while familiar designers like Kim Jones for Dior and Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton are both up picks for Global Men’s designer of the Year.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Brandon Maxwell, Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year:
Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
Thom Browne
Todd Snyder
Tom Ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year:
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Gabriela Hearst
Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year:
Christopher John Rogers
Kenneth Nicholson
Peter Do
Reese Cooper
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Women’s Designer of the Year:
Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Miuccia Prada for Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Rick Owens

Global Men’s Designer of the Year:
Craig Green
Dries Van Noten
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

For more on FASHION, follow us on Instagram @fashionpivot | Twitter: @fashionpivott | Facebook: Fashio0npivott|
If you have a story or suggestion, Email:
Leave your views in the comment box below